© 2023 KVPR | Valley Public Radio - White Ash Broadcasting, Inc. :: 89.3 Fresno / 89.1 Bakersfield
NPR For Central California
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

KVPR Wins Three 2022 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

2022 Murrow Award Winners

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has awarded KVPR three prestigious 2022 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. KVPR reporter Soreath Hok received two of the honors, in the categories hard news and investigative journalism, while KVPR News Director Alice Daniel won the award for best writing. The winning entries include a report about Fresno's homelessness crisis, an investigation into shortcomings of distance-learning in Madera, and the profile of a Pulitzer Prize winning Fresno author.

All of the station's awards were in the small market radio division, in a region spanning California, Nevada and Hawaii. The regional award winners will go on to compete for national Murrow Award honors. This is fourth year in a row that KVPR has won Regional Murrow honors. A complete list of the Murrow Award winners can be found here.

KVPR's winning stories include:

Tomas Ovalle
KVPR reporter Soreath Hok

Hard News: Fresno Homeless Encampment Grows After Highway Displacement; City To Decide On Funding - by Soreath Hok

Investigative Reporting: Distance-Learning Investigation: Shortfall In Student Engagement Despite High Attendance Numbers - by Soreath Hok

Excellence in Writing: Fresno writer Diana Marcum’s second travel memoir revolves around Blue Morpho Butterflies and Belize - by Alice Daniel

The RTDNA writes about the Murrow Awards on its website:

"Among the most prestigious awards in news, the Murrow Awards recognize local and national news stories that uphold the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrate technical expertise and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community. Murrow Award winning work demonstrates the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession. RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with these awards since 1971."

The Other Cal Exec Producer Alice Daniel_KVPR 002.jpg
Tomas Ovalle
KVPR News Director Alice Daniel