© 2023 KVPR | Valley Public Radio - White Ash Broadcasting, Inc. :: 89.3 Fresno / 89.1 Bakersfield
89.3 Fresno | 89.1 Bakersfield
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Yosemite's Ahwahnee Hotel, Other Attractions To Get New Names

Joe Moore
Valley Public Radio
The Ahwahnee Hotel will now be known as The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Some popular Yosemite landmarks including the Ahwahnee Hotel and Curry Village will soon be getting new names thank to a lawsuit over intellectual property associate with the park.

Longtime concessionaire Deleware North contends that it owns the trademark to the names, and wants $50 million from the new concessionaire Aramark, which takes over March 1st. The National Park Service disputes the trademark claims. Scott Gediman is the Yosemite spokesperson.

Gediman: "This was a step that was taken reluctantly, we’re not happy about it, it’s not something we did willingly, but we felt it was a step that was necessary to take to ensure that these facilities would remain open."

He says the park service doesn't agree with Delaware North's claims to the trademarks as they predate the company's involvement in Yosemite, and they challenge the company's valuation.

Under the plan announced today  The Ahwahnee will become “The Majestic Yosemite Hotel”, Curry Village will become “Half Dome Village,” the Wawona Hotel will become “Big Trees Lodge” and the Badger Pass Ski Area will become the  Yosemite Ski & Snowboard Area.

In addition to those contested names, Geidman says that Delaware North also trademarked the name Yosemite National Park without the knowledge of the National Park Service. That name he said is in the public domain and the name of the park itself will not change. 

Joe Moore is the President and General Manager of KVPR / Valley Public Radio. He has led the station through major programming changes, the launch of KVPR Classical and the COVID-19 pandemic. Under his leadership the station was named California Non-Profit of the Year by Senator Melissa Hurtado (2019), and won a National Edward R. Murrow Award for investigative reporting (2022).